When I’m 64 …

when-im-64

When I was young I thought 64 was probably how old God was. 

This year – anybody born in 1951 , myself included, will be … 64.

64

 And if 64 is good enough for God … then it’s good enough for me.

i-love-64-131884361913

 It was certainly good enough for a 16 year old young man from Liverpool named Paul McCartney when he wrote a song called …

when-im-64

More about this later.

64-1

So just what is it that makes 64 such a great little number ?

Well … mathematically speaking 64 is the square of 8, the cube of 4 and the sixth power of 2. It is the smallest number with exactly seven divisors. It is the lowest positive power of 2 that is adjacent to neither a Mersenne prime nor a Fermat prime. 64 is the sum of Euler’s totient function for the first fourteen integers. It is also a dodecagonal number and a centred triangular number. 64 is also the first whole number that is both a perfect square and a perfect cube.

For any scientists out there … 64 is the atomic number of Gadolinium.

Chess and draughts players will know there are 64 squares on the game board

220px-Chess_Board_svg

And for all you sex maniacs out there … 64 is the number of sexual positions in the Kama Sutra !

64Finally … if you click on the link below you will be able to see a brilliant cartoon featuring When I’m Sixty-Four from the 1967 album  Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band by the Beatles.

18 responses to “When I’m 64 …

  1. Happy birthday – when you’re 64!

  2. I’ll tell you what happens when you turn 64: At lest one person insists on singing that Beatles’ song to you. Off key.

  3. I’m a little late with my comment, Chris White; please forgive me. Overwhelmed and just now getting to some things. Thanks so much for visiting my blog. Really appreciate it. Love the 64 theme, and Happy Birthday. I tease my wife all the time about dressing me in mix match patterns of clothers when I’m old and gray. She promises me she will do just that…..Hope your birthday was 64 ways of awesome!

    • Hi again. My birthday is in November so I am still a mere 63. So it will come soon enough … birthday greetings,bottle of wine 🎶. But hey … THANK YOU ANYWAY MY FRIEND! 😀 All the best. Take care. Kris.

  4. My birthday is in November too. Going backwards now … been 59 a while. happy birthday to us when it happens. Thanks for dropping by to my blog

  5. Hi Chris, good to meet you. Thanks for liking my blog. I saw yours on Sue Vincent’s blog and I thought, hey, that’s my year too, I should have a look. My birthday is in April so I have already reached that number. As far as I am concerned, any age is good as long as I am alive and have my faculties!

  6. Interesting! Never thought of all this when I was 64! Happy birthday! Stay young!

  7. Well you got me started, now I’m listening to Beatles albums on the internet. Thanks.

  8. I have to admit I prefer earlier Beatles to later Beatles…

  9. I just turned 62,my wife says I don’t look a day over done
    Thank you for visiting
    As always Sheldon

Leave a Reply

