I, Follower … The Noble Art of Following … Part 2

I, FOLLOWER 
(The Noble Art of Following – Part 2)

report-2013-januray-350-dreamstime_xl_13354033

Hello. I really hope you enjoyed the first part of this post which I published yesterday. Thank you so much for all the likes and comments. It’s good to know that you’re around. Rip has joined the circus and is currently taking his chainsaw juggling act to the capitals of Europe. He is seeking an assistant, just in case any of you are interested …

tumbleweed1_kindlephoto-7705931

Tumbleweed moment …

OK, I’ll take that as a NO then. Moving on.

I have just read and reblogged an absolutely brilliant post by Andrew from Andrew’s View of the Week. It’s called How to Get Me to Read and Like Your Blog. Seriously folks … it is definitely required reading. In fact, go away and read it now. I’ll still be here when you get back …

clock_hands_spinning_import_500_clrEr … Hello. Is anybody there? 

164194747

Oh good. You’re back then. Since last we met I have grown a beard. I also met Rip on the Moscow leg of his European circus tour. It is not going well. Dwindling audiences. Some disappearing performers including the Ringmaster and two clowns. Christmas was fairly uneventful again this year. 

Internet blog reader concept 3d illustration

Being a follower is a great privilege for me. I have accepted an invitation from someone else to access their thoughts and experiences. That’s quite something when you think about it. Being allowed to look through a window into their world just for a short while.

20141003-104232_kindlephoto-99519508

Illustration from In the Attic by Hiawyn Oram and Satoshi Kitamura

As far as choosing which blogs to follow then I’m  pretty much with Andrew every step of the way.  I’m selective, yes. But I always need to broaden my horizons. Who knows where it might lead. It’s a voyage of discovery. You take me with you on so many different journeys and I thank you for that. 

sailing-ship1_kindlephoto-5879450

Once I have a blog to follow then I always remember a quote I read a while back – Who needs friends when you have followers that don’t speak to you. (unknown) 

th-23

Personally, I can’t see much point in following someone without at least giving them the occasional like or comment. I certainly get this wrong at times myself. I would imagine that most of us do. To quote a few lines from Sounds of Silence by Simon & Garfunkel …

But my words, like silent raindrops fell

And echoed

In the wells of silence

I’m sure these words will resonate with some of you and others, maybe not. We’re all different. The point I am trying to make is that we are all part of a community here and that it is so good that we look out for one another. I certainly meet some wonderful fine folk on here who enrich my life more than they will ever know. Long may it continue. 

blog-clip-art-mnmo3b_kindlephoto-8722938

14 responses to “I, Follower … The Noble Art of Following … Part 2

  1. Good to hear that Rip is making his way in the big, wide world. I was considering offering my services as his assistant but… well, you know… I’m just so busy… *ahem*. Following is even better than being followed, I think. In every sense of the meaning. So I have left you a like and now a comment… would a small digital hug be too much?

  2. I really don’t understand why others would follow my blog without even reading my posts. They would just follow and then I wouldn’t hear from them again…

  3. Another nice thing about being a follower is that you can follow someone without actually going anywhere.

  4. Thanks for the kind words about my post. Once in awhile I say some worth knowing. Might be awhile before that happens again… 😉

  5. Since I dipped my toe in the blogging world I’ve discovered a wide range of people and topics that I’d never have otherwise come across. I regard it as having access to the world’s biggest magazine, I flip through until something takes my attention and then, if I like what I see I follow it. Like any other magazine there are some that you always want to check out and some where an occasional catch up is enough. Happy blogging! X

  6. Dear Chris,

    You had me with your images of ships and the sea . . and you sealed my affections with your reference to Sound of Silence by Simon & Garfunkel.

    Love your writing, your spirit, your blog and your energy!

    Happy to have found each others ‘windows.’ 🙂

    Peace, always,

    Allison

Leave a Reply

