It’s Pluto, Pluto!

It’s Pluto, Pluto!

Unless you’ve been travelling in outer-space for the past couple of days you must have almost certainly seen some of the first close-up images of PLUTO sent back by the New Horizons spacecraft from a distance of several billion miles.

2A85A9AC00000578-3160464-This_is_the_most_detailed_image_captured_of_the_surface_of_Pluto-a-17_1436890162570

Pluto was discovered in 1930 by the American astronomer Clyde Tombaugh. Originally considered as the ninth planet from the Sun it was later reclassified as a dwarf planet.

423px-Pluto_discovery_plates

Pluto orbits in a region of the Solar System beyond the planets now known the Kuiper Belt. This was named after the Dutch-American astronomer Gerard Kuiper who wrote an article about it for the Astrophysics science journal in  … 1951.

2A85A9AC00000578-3160464-This_is_the_most_detailed_image_captured_of_the_surface_of_Pluto-a-17_1436890162570

People are already busy talking about the various features visible in this amazing image. Now when I look at this image I see a dog and a very special dog at that.

CJ4eZOtUAAAGVy1

Scarey, isn’t it. Gets scarier. Pluto the dog is a cartoon character created by Walt Disney in … 1930. Yes, planet Pluto’s discovery and Pluto the dog’s creation came within just a short time of each other.

pluto-solar-system-dog

 And just to keep things all neat and 1951-ish Pluto the dog starred in three films in 1951 : 

  • Cold Storage
  • Plutopia
  • Cold Turkey

And in 1951, Pluto the planet was … well, doing what planets do best. Being there in orbit. And it takes 248 Earth years for Pluto to make just ONE complete of the Sun. All lonely and unloved until the day the cameras came. 

pluto_surface

Close up of Pluto showing mountains made of water-ice.

CJ4ejHkUsAAEAnm

charon

Charon : one of Pluto’s moons

Ref : the verge.com

20 responses to “It’s Pluto, Pluto!

  1. Whatever next kris Mars bars on Mars. And I’m not even gonna mention Uranus☺

  2. Thanks for posting the photos. So with the discovery of Pluto, living on Pluto, it seems there really is life on other planets.

  3. I never saw Pluto (the dog) in that image until you pointed it out. Well done for spotting it. 🙂

    • Hi Erika. That’s so nice of you for thinking of me. I already have a Versatile Blogger Award and I only like to accept one of each. Crazy but true. The award is in the fact that you offered it so nicely. Oh, you know what I mean.
      BUT I am going to create a new award in the next few days and you will be the first recipient. Hey … All the very best to you and yours.

      • Kris, I totally nderstand ans respect that. My intention to participate is first and foremost to support other bloggers and show my appreciation. Whenever I nominate you in the future does never mean I expect you to participate.
        What? A new award and I may be one of the first recipients? OMG! That sounds exciting and …. woooow! Thank you so much in advance. That is such an honor. Now I am tested again in my patience… haha.

      • That’s good. The award … YOU will be the FIRST and only recipient. Who gets it next will be up to you. 😀

      • Holy Joy!!! That makes me speechless, Kris. What an amazing honor. Now you have me definitely impatient… haha.

  4. Wow ! After this post I too can relate it with Pluto the dog 😇

  5. I’ve always found pluto to be an interesting planet ever since I was young.

Leave a Reply

