The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 1

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 1

music_mind

Hello folks. Several of my friends on WordPress regularly share wonderful posts about the music they have discovered and enjoyed.

music

We all have a musical backdrop to our lives which extends from the cradle to the grave. The great pianist, composer and conductor Alberto Semprini used to host a light music  programme on BBC radio called Semprini Seranade. He always introduced his musical selection with the words: “Old ones, new ones, loved ones, neglected ones”. 

This then is the The 1951 Rolling Review Show which each week features a piece of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know and please feel free to Reblog.

music

 ELIZABETHAN SERANADE

Elizabethan Serenade was composed by Ronald Binge. When it was first played by the Mantovani orchestra in 1951, it was simply titled “Andante cantabile”. The name was altered by the composer to reflect the post-War optimism of the”new Elizabethan Age” that began with the accession of Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom in February 1952. So … sit back, relax and listen.

10 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 1

  1. Kris, this is such a beautiful piece of music. I don’t know how long ago I heard it the last time. I love this so much. I totally forgot about that. Thank you so much for sharing this gem!!!
    I love the idea of you sharing your favorite music with us. I love this in general because we get to know so much more or get reminded (like today) to treasures we almost forgot about!

  2. Beautiful music. The title seems accurate also, given that Britain seems to have flourished during Queen Elizabeth’s reign.

  3. Music is food for the soul!

  4. Kris I am so so gonna like this feature I think in some things we may habe a very similar if eclectic taste. That is an exquisite piece to start with. Bring on the next☺☺

Leave a Reply

