The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 19

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 19

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which each week features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know and please feel free to Reblog.

giphy

Who Knows Where the Time Goes ? (Sandy Denny)

330px-Sandy_Denny_by_David_Bailey_1972_wiki

Sandy Denny (1947-1978)

Sandy Denny — was an English singer and songwriter. She has been described as the pre-eminent British folk rock singer. She was in the Strawbs, Fairport Convention and Fotheringay, before focusing on a solo career. She died as the result of a tragic accident in 1978, aged just 31. She wrote the hauntingly beautiful Who Knows Where the Time Goes ?  in 1967 and it became her signature song. This is the recording she made when with the Strawbs.

This past week has seen the untimely deaths of David Bowie and Alan Rickman, both at the age of 69. Had Sandy Denny still been with us, she also would have just celebrated her 69th birthday.

Across the purple sky, all the birds are leaving
But how can they know it’s time for them to go?
Before the winter fire, I will still be dreaming
I have no thought of time

For who knows where the time goes?
Who knows where the time goes?

Sad, deserted shore, your fickle friends are leaving
Ah, but then you know it’s time for them to go
But I will still be here, I have no thought of leaving
I do not count the time

For who knows where the time goes?
Who knows where the time goes?

And I am not alone while my love is near me
I know it will be so until it’s time to go
So come the storms of winter and then the birds in spring again
I do not fear the time

For who knows how my love grows?
And who knows where the time goes?

13 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 19

  1. I loved Sandy Denny songs (still do). My favorite is probably “Solo”, or perhaps “Full Moon”, or ……. 🙂

    • Thanks Colin. She was a very gifted person. Sad she died so young and tragically. My favourite song is Fotheringay.

      • I’ll check that one out. Thx Chris. 🙂

      • Well Chris, immediately after your comment, I checked out (and downloaded from iTunes) “Fotheringay”! You know those songs that occasionally get jammed up on some active brain cells? They are always playing in one’s background? You start a love/hate relationship with them? You wish that just for a few moments, you could switch them off? That’s “Fotheringay”. Such a beautiful song and, given the story behind the lyrics, so poignant. I keep playing it in the hope that it will go away for a while…but it doesn’t! Thx a bunch Chris! 🙂

      • Ah! Remedy … Judas Priest … Breaking the Law … ear splittingly loud on earphones. It will certainly help.

      • Hmmm ……… never been a JP fan…. but I’ll give it a try! 🙂

  2. Kris, a beautiful post and a very beautiful song to go with…. it’s giving me goose bumps.

  3. Just downloaded Fotheringay (and a few others) from iTunes. Absolutely beautiful. Don’t know how I overlooked that one. Thx so much Chris. 🙂

Leave a Reply

