The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 31

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 31

giphy

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know and please feel free to Reblog.

 YOU DON’T KNOW HELEN SHAPIRO

th

You Don’t Know was recorded by Helen Shapiro in 1961 when she was just 14. Her mature voice made her an overnight sensation, as well as the youngest female chart topper in the UK. Before she was sixteen years old, Shapiro had been voted Britain’s “Top Female Singer”. The Beatles first national tour of Britain, in the late winter/early spring of 1963, was as one of her supporting acts. 

630302-The-Beatles-Helen-Shapiro-copy

helen shapiro john lennon

Helen Shapiro with John Lennon

8 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 31

  1. Beautiful! I did not know her or that song. But I love that music style a lot!

  2. I had forgotten all about Helen Shapiro. Your memory jogger was much appreciated! 🙂

  3. Eva Xanthopoulos

    I’m absolutely loving your blog! It’s so unique and I enjoy the 1950s vibe overall. 🙂

Leave a Reply

