The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 38

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 38

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know and please feel free to Reblog.

giphy

This is the theme from one of my favourite movies Das Boot (1981). Set during World War II, it tells the fictional story of submarine U-96 and its crew. The score was written by German composer by Klaus Doldinger. One of the cast was 1951 Club member Erwin Leder who played the role of “Chief Mechanic” Johann.

9 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 38

  1. I love watching Das Boot. In fact I may well watch it again after hearing that music. I remember when it was on the telly every Sunday night and we’d all be there on time as not to miss it. And the mechanic was one of my fave characters too, especially when he devoured that orange!

    • Hi Andy. One of the best films ever. In many ways, very anti-war. I always remember the bit where they sank a ship and how upset they got when they saw the crew struggling in the water but they had to back away and leave them.
      Thanks for dropping by. All the best. Kris.

  2. I loved the series. The soundtrack was amazing and still it gives me goosebumps hearing it. The series also featured one of the greatest German singers and composers who still is a big star, Herbert Grönemeyer. He was so very young. I would love to see the series again. Have to get the DVD’s. Thank you for sharing this today, Kris!

  3. It was/is a wonderful movie because there was none of the Hollywood “glitch and glamour” that is usually present. “Das Boot” and “The Cruel Sea” are my favorite WWII movies… both for the same reasons.
    On a total change of topic (specifically targeting you Chris) – I cannot get rid of Sandy Denny’s Fotheringay from my brain! Do you have anything else coming up that could replace it????? 🙂

Leave a Reply

