The 1951 Rolling Review Show (Midweek Melody) … # 42

The 1951 Rolling Review Show (Midweek Melody) … # 42

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know and please feel free to Reblog.

giphy

Nine Pound Hammer (Merle Travis)

 Merle Travis (1917-1983) was an American singer, songwriter and musician. He is known for his masterly guitar playing and even had a picking style named after him. This is his version of Nine Pound Hammer, a traditional work song used by railroad laborers in the post Civil War South of the United States. Much in the same way a sea chantey aided sailors, the rhythm of the song helped the workers keep a steady pace pounding spikes for railroad ties. This shows Merle performing the song in … 1951.

13 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show (Midweek Melody) … # 42

  1. I haven’t heard this chap before and I liked this very much.

  2. I don’t think I know this one (which doesn’t mean anything…lol). I have to get back to the song later…. at the hairdresser with my son right now ☺

Leave a Reply

