Don DeLillo … I wish I had started earlier.

Hello. Just a bit of shameless advertising. This is the latest post from my other blog called ROUTINE MATTERS.If you are not yet following then I would be eternally grateful if you would. When I say ‘eternally’ I hope you realise that this is just a wee bit of an exaggeration. I will definitely be grateful until say next Wednesday. After that … Well I can’t make any promises.

Routine Matters

Don DeLillo … I wish I had started earlier.

Delillo_typewriterDon  DeLillo at home  with his trusty Olympia manual typewriter. 

 Award-winning author Don DeLillo was born November 20, 1936. The American novelist, playwright and essayist has been variously described as the laureate of terror and the chief shaman of the paranoid school of American fiction. Initially a well-regarded cult writer, the publication in 1985 of White Noise brought him widespread recognition, and was followed in 1988 by Libra, a bestseller. DeLillo has twice been a Pulitzer Prize for Fiction finalist (for Mao II in 1992 and for Underworld in 1998.)

1401x788-502545763

 He was interviewed in 1992 for the Paris Review Art of Fiction series. Americana, his first novel, was published in 1971. It took him about four years to write. At the time he was living in a small studio apartment in Manhattan. 

I wish I had started earlier, but evidently I…

View original post 376 more words

Leave a Reply

