The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody # 56

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody # 56

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know if you do.

music

Theme from A Summer Place (Percy Faith & his Orchestra)

“Theme from A Summer Place” is a song with lyrics by Mack Discant and music by Max Steiner, written for the 1959 film A Summer Place.The best-known cover version of the theme is an instrumental by Percy Faith and his orchestra. This was released as a single in September 1959. The single was not an immediate hit and did not enter the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart until mid-January 1960, finally reaching #1 six weeks later on February 22, 1960. It spent nine consecutive weeks at #1 and remains the longest-running #1 instrumental in the history of the chart. It also reached # 1 in Italy and # 2 in the UK.

11 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody # 56

  1. Woooh. That really took me back. It sounded so sophisticated, and just a tad dangerous, back in 1960.

  2. Oh, I love this song! I had a tape (yes a tape) at the time when I had my first car (a little Honda CRX). That song was on that tape and I played it over and over. What a great time I link to this song!

  3. Very interesting about the song’s slow rise to a #1 position.
    I happened to hear it not long ago on the radio. It’s a good one.

  4. I’m afraid I associate this with hotel lobbies, busy restaurants and other public places. I don’t think I ever heard it at home. Nice bit of music that I’d not heard in decades, though.

  5. Thanks for sharing the video with us!

Leave a Reply

