Greetings Mr Karpov …

Greetings Mr Karpov …

I-05-STORY-karp-f20_640.jpg_Thumbnail0

Anatoly Karpov, born May 23, 1951, is a Russian chess grandmaster and former World Champion. He was the official world champion from 1975 to 1985 when he was defeated by Garry Kasparov. He played three matches against Kasparov for the title from 1986 to 1990, before becoming FIDE World Champion once again after Kasparov broke away from FIDE in 1993. He held the title until 1999, when he resigned his title in protest against FIDE’s new world championship rules. For his decades-long standing among the world’s elite, Karpov is considered by many to be one of the greatest players of all time.

Anatoly_Karpov_1977

I wrote to him in Russian. When I say Russian, I mean Google translate Russian. When I later retranslated it back into English, it came out something like … Greetings Mr Karpov. Kris of the Whiteness salutes you. I am wildly fan of you chess.
Realising I must be a complete idiot he took pity on me and joined. He also said it was fine for me to write to him in English in future. Now he tells me!

9 responses to “Greetings Mr Karpov …

  1. LOL, well at least you tried AND you got a response! That is pretty cool!

  2. Haha. At least your Google translation got his attention. I bet he joined because he was fascinated by your. Incredible blog.

  3. What a great story
    Thank you for visiting
    As always Sheldon

  4. hehe-I always wonder about those google translations!

Leave a Reply

