The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody # 60

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody # 60

 Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know if you do.

music_mind

If I Can Dream – Elvis Presley

220px-If_I_Can_Dream_Cover

“If I Can Dream” is a song made famous by Elvis Presley, written by Walter Earl Brown and notable for its direct quotations of Martin Luther King, Jr.. It was recorded by Presley in June 1968, two months after King’s assassination. The recording was first released to the public as the finale of Presley’s ’68 Comeback Special.

11 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody # 60

  1. Kris…. Oh My God!!! You touched my soul with that song! I forgot about it. Thank you so very much for sharing it! Such a fantastic song and so fitting to our times!!! God, that man could sing!

    • Thank you Erika. There is another version on YouTube with him doing a duet of the song with Celine Dion. Obviously done with lots of camera trickery … but brilliant and actually quite moving. Thank you so much for all your support. I appreciate it so much. Kris.

      • Wow, that is a great hint. Have to check that out! What our technology is able to do!!! Awh, Kris, you made me smile, thank you 😊💖

  2. Reblogged this on Erika Kind and commented:
    I cannot help it and need to reblog Kris’ post. One of the best Elvis songs in my opinion. That passion, that depth in words and expression! And what a fitting song these days!

  3. It’s hard to go wrong with an Elvis song, but this one is pretty good, a raw, dynamic Elvis, the one that was so good up until the drugs took over and dominated the last few years of his life.

    Tim

    • Hi Tim. It is very raw and dynamic. Apparently, according to his backing group, he was very taken by this song himself and means every word. There is another very clever version on YouTube with him doing a duet of the song with Celine Dion. Obviously done with lots of camera trickery … but brilliant and actually quite moving.

  4. Enjoyed this so much, thank you Erika ❤

Leave a Reply

