The Red Badge of Courage … 1951

The Red Badge of Courage … 1951

red-badge-of-courage-poster

The Red Badge of Courage is a 1951 war film made by MGM and directed by John Huston. It was adapted from Stephen Crane’s 1895 novel of the same name. Taking place during the American Civil War, the story is about a young private of the Union Army, Henry Fleming, who flees from the field of battle. Overcome with shame, he longs for a wound, a “red badge of courage,” to counteract his cowardice. When his regiment once again faces the enemy, Henry acts as standard-bearer.

17 responses to “The Red Badge of Courage … 1951

  1. Being a standard-bearer can be quite dangerous.

    • Like … everybody wants a piece of you. 😥😠

      • And they really stand out on the battlefield, too.

      • If I was a standard bearer on a battle field I would be saying …. could you hold this for a minute while I do up my shoelaces. You could go through a whole battle like that.

      • Now, that’s military tactics at work, there. You have missed your calling, I think. Still. I’d rather have you here writing than messing about on battlefields. Eventually you would run out of shoelaces.

      • Ah … you have spotted a potential weak point in my plan.I would wear slip-on shoes. I would hope that nobody would actually notice that I wasn’t wearing shoelaces. I think this is referred to in the trade as … a downright lie. I personally would regard it as a technicality.
        Anyway, at the end of the battle I would pick up the standard and get medals galore.
        What the hell am I on about. I wish I knew.

      • You are such a legend, Kris. If anyone could pull it off, it would be you. The plan, I mean. Not anything… rude. or anything. You know, let’s just have some cake and a sit down.

      • I will mention you in dispatches. Cake would be lovely I think. 🍩🍩🍰🍰🍪🍪🍫🍫🍮🍮

  2. A great story. One should see the film and read the book.

  3. What a year that was! So many great productions 😁

  4. I liked the first version better than the later one,but maybe because I was in love with Audie Murphy!

  5. Goodness me! I saw that one at the cinema. Particularly interesting because Audie Murphy was a real war hero. Thanks for the memory

Leave a Reply

