The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 63

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 63

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know if you do.

days-7-inch-a-side

“Days” – Kirsty MacColl

“Days” is a song by The Kinks, written by lead singer Ray Davies, released as a single in 1968. It reached # 12 in the UK singles chart. The late great Kirsty MacColl covered “Days” on her 1989 album Kite. It was released as a single and reached No. 12 on the UK singles chart, the same position achieved by The Kinks in 1968. 

9 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 63

  1. I hadn’t heard this cover – I remember only The Kinks. By the late 1980s I’d put my misspent youth behind me, had a proper job, and was working 50+ hour weeks. Plus, most 80s’ music wasn’t worth listening to. Thanks!

  2. I really loved to listen to The Kinks in my teenage years. I am Danish so I had to find the signal at a very narrow space on my transistor radio on a station called Radio One, I think

    • Hi Maria. Nice to hear from you. I think it would have been Radio One. It was called the Light Programme before that.
      Did you have a favourite Kinks song ? Mine was Waterloo Sunset. All the very best. Kris.

      • It was the sound of their voices and the melodies. It’s so emotional for me to hear the songs after all these years so I will wait a bit to your your song. I can’t remember the names of the songs anymore, but I remember the excitement of finding a good song on the radio station and rushing out in the kitchen to play the tune for my mother, who was always doing some work there

      • That is so nice. Music always seems to work wonders in this crazy world. 🎵🎶🎷🎸🎹🎺🎻🎼

Leave a Reply

