The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody #

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody # 68

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know if you do.

Vicky_-_L'amour_est_bleu

“L’amour est bleu” (Vicky)

“L’amour est bleu” (English title: “Love Is Blue”) is a song by André Popp and Pierre Cour. It was first performed in French by Greek singer Vicky Leandros (appearing as Vicky) as the Luxembourg entry in the 1967 Eurovision Song Contest. It has since been recorded by many other musicians, most notably French orchestra leader Paul Mauriat, whose familiar instrumental version became the only number-one hit by a French artist to top the Billboard Hot 100 in America. The Mauriat recording also reached number 12 on the UK Singles Chart.

Incidentally, Vicky came 4th in the 1967 Eurovision Song Contest, while Britain’s Sandy Shaw came 1st with “Puppet on a String.” What’s more, Vicky, who went on to win the contest for Luxembourg in 1972 with the song “Après Toi”, was born just a few kilometres from where I’m writing this. Small world sometimes.

10 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody #

  1. I liked it. My, how the contest has changed

    • Hasn’t it just!! Then it was a live orchestra, the singer and a microphone. Now it is all glitz an glamour, fancy backgrounds and laser lights. I preferred those early shows.

  2. I grew up with her voice, she was one of my sister favorite singers – she sang in German. The speaker at the beginning is Austrian, he was presenting Austrian’s News on Television, a very fine and smart person, with high ethics. Oh my, thank you for that!!! Yes, the world is very little and connections are many :o) … best regards from today rainy Austria …

  3. Ah……….. Vicky Leandros! My favorite is “Come What May” (the English version). Interestingly, she was still going strong and in fine voice a few years ago (ref Youtube)!

  4. Oh, even to me that song (in its original version) sounds familiar! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

