The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody # 71

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody # 71

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know if you do.

untitled

Finchley Central – The New Vaudeville Band

ย “Finchley Central” was a hit for The New Vaudeville Band way back in 1967. They also had an earlier hit in 1966 with “Winchester Cathedral”. Finchley Central is a tube station on the Northern Line in London.

Finchley Central is two and sixpence
From Golders Green on the Northern Line
And on the platform, by the kiosk
That’s where you said you’d be mine

There we made a date
For hours I waited
But I’m blowed, you never showed

At Finchley Central, ten long stations
From Golders Green, change at Camden Town
I thought I’d made you, but I’m afraid you
Only let me down

11 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … Midweek Melody # 71

  1. I remember Winchester Cathedral but not this song!

  2. I loved this group! But Winchester Cathedral was my favourite.

  3. I can honestly say I’ve never heard this song before, but it is at least cheerful (well, apart from the lyrics, anyway).

Leave a Reply

