The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 83

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 83

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know if you do.

julie-driscoll-brian-auger-and-the-trinity-streetnoise-24-96%c2%a5artwork%c2%a5inside-top_kindlephoto-68074979

This Wheel’s on Fire – Julie Driscoll, Brian Auger and the Trinity

“This Wheel’s on Fire” is a song written by Bob Dylan and Rick Danko. It was originally recorded by Dylan and The Band during their 1967 sessions.

th-1

In 1968, a version by Julie Driscoll with Brian Auger and The Trinity became a hit in the United Kingdom, peaking at #5 on the UK Singles Chart. With its use of distortion, phasing, the evocative imagery of the song’s title and the group’s flamboyant dress, this version is closely associated with the psychedelic era in British music. Driscoll recorded the song again in the early 1990s with Adrian Edmondson as the theme to the BBC comedy series Absolutely Fabulous, whose main characters are throwbacks to that era. 

14 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 83

  1. Siouxsie and the Banshees did a version too!

  2. That’s one that I’d forgotten!!!!!!

  3. Choice! Who sang the original version was a pub quiz question. I won a bonus prize (free drinks for the team) for also being able to name Brian Auger and The Trinity.

  4. Cool song, I also love how they already played with some effects at that time!

  5. Seeing the picture there was no doubt who this was. Julie Driscoll who I used to drool over (not literally or she’s have sued me). This was a fantastic record with all the psychadelic gimmickry of the time.I doubt I’d have paid any attention if I’d been born after 1951 so my entrance was perfect timing.
    Hugs

  6. I don’t remember this song from Dylan an the Band but they’ve done so many….

Leave a Reply

