The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 88

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 88

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know if you do.

suzanne_by_leonard_cohen_canadian_vinyl

songsofleonardcohen-jpeg

Canadian singer, songwriter and poet Leonard Cohen died just a few days ago aged 82. “Suzanne” is a song written by Cohen in the 1960s. First published as a poem in 1966, it was recorded as a song by Judy Collins in the same year, and Cohen performed it as his debut single, from his 1967 album Songs of Leonard Cohen. It was inspired by Cohen’s platonic relationship with Suzanne Verdal, the then-girlfriend of sculptor Armand Vaillancourt. 

6 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 88

  1. Love Leonard Cohen, one of my favorites. I was in my car yesterday listening to NPR and on came an interview with him from 2006. It was wonderful. He opened up about a lot of his insecurities and sang several of his songs. Nice to see this post here. 🙂

  2. He was a wonderful artist and his poems will never be forgotten

  3. One of my favorites – I was lucky enough to see him sing this song in Mont Royal many many years ago.

Leave a Reply

