The 1951 Rolling Review Show … (Midweek Melody) # 88

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … (Midweek Melody) # 88

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know if you do.

th-1

 Peter Sarstedt – Where Do You Go To (My Lovely)?

“Where Do You Go To (My Lovely)?” is a 1969 song by the British singer-songwriter Peter Sarstedt. +It was a number-one 1 hit in the UK Singles Chart for four weeks in 1969 and was awarded the 1969 Ivor Novello Award for Best Song Musically and Lyrically. In the United States, the record reached #61 on the Cash Box Top 100 Singles. The single also peaked at #70 on the Billboard Hot 100 that May. Sarstedt wrote the song about a girl he fell madly in love with in Vienna in 1965. She died in a hotel fire. The song was written in Copenhagen.

7 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … (Midweek Melody) # 88

  1. Oh I remember it so well! Loved the song…. didn’t like his hair so much!!! 🙂

  2. I remember it well. The line “the backstreets of Naples” pops up now and then in my head. I think that’s reason for me being reluctant to visit that city

Leave a Reply

