The 1951Rolling Review Show … (Midweek Melody) # 100

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … (Midweek Melody) # 100

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know if you do.

joni-mitchell-big-yellow-taxi-1970-9

 “Big Yellow Taxi” is a song written, composed, and originally recorded by Canadian singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell in 1970, and originally released on her album Ladies of the Canyon. It was a hit in her native Canada (No. 14) as well as Australia (No. 6) and the UK (No. 11). It only reached No. 67 in the US in 1970, but was later a bigger hit there for her in a live version released in 1974, which peaked at No. 24.

Portrait of Canadian musician Joni Mitchell seated on the floor playing acoustic guitar, November 1968. This image is from a shoot for the fashion magazine Vogue. Mitchell wears a loose-fitting white dress. (Photo by Jack Robinson/Getty Images)

“I wrote ‘Big Yellow Taxi’ on my first trip to Hawaii. I took a taxi to the hotel and when I woke up the next morning, I threw back the curtains and saw these beautiful green mountains in the distance. Then, I looked down and there was a parking lot as far as the eye could see, and it broke my heart… this blight on paradise. That’s when I sat down and wrote the song.”

6 responses to “The 1951Rolling Review Show … (Midweek Melody) # 100

  1. Brilliant song, even more brilliant artist. Love Joni Mitchell 🙂

  2. My dad was a huge fan of Joni. Fun to hear again. If he was still with us, he’d be dancing. ❤

  3. Classic. Love Joni. She’s had a big impact on me.

Leave a Reply

