The 1951 Rolling Review Show … (Midweek Melody) # 102

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … (Midweek Melody) # 102

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which twice weekly features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know if you do.

hqdefault

 Our Last Summer – from Mama Mia

Our Last Summer” is a song by ABBA from the group’s seventh studio album, Super Trouper released in 1980. It was written by Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus.
Ulvaeus found lyrical inspiration for this song in a memory of a romance he had during a visit to Paris as a teenager. A version of the song was used in the musical Mamma Mia!  I have to admit I actually prefer it to the original …

10 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … (Midweek Melody) # 102

  1. I’m with you – the original just pips into first place for me.

  2. Loved so many ABBA recordings… but the Mamma Mia movie was, to me, a resounding disaster due to the casting of Meryl Streep. While she is undoubtedly a very good actress (and has so many excellent movies to her credit) she never really established a level of credibility for the character she played in Mamma Mia. Just one man’s perspective of course! 🙂

  3. I too prefer the original but I liked the movie and so this version has its own charm!

  4. Hated the movie and my love for all things ABBA didn’t overcome my dislike. I did like the Broadway version though – energetic, great voices and lots of fun.

Leave a Reply

