My Sunday Poem … # 22

My Sunday Poem … # 22

Hello folks. Today’s poem is brand new and fresh out of the bag. The other day my lovely wife gave me the most marvellous gift of a brand new Panama hat. So I wrote this in celebration of my good fortune. It is very loosely based on a Bob Dylan song called “Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat” from his 1966 album Blonde on Blonde.

My brand new Panama hat

I woke up this morning with a feeling that
I’d take a walk to the beach and back
Take a real slow walk to the beach and back
Just me in my brand new Panama hat

I tripped on down with a feeling that
I’m the prince of cool I’m a Persian cat
I could easily pass as an aristocrat
Just me in my brand new Panama hat

I got to the shore with a feeling that
God and the angels know where it’s at
Yeah God and his angels know where’s it’s at
They want my brand new Panama hat

21 responses to “My Sunday Poem … # 22

  1. Never mind God and his angels, I want the hat! Good choice Mrs. W.

  2. Tonight I shall sleep
    Probably dream of this and that
    Wearing my best pyjamas… and (of course) my Panama hat!

  3. Looks awesome on you, Chris. And I think it has some inspirational magic about it… love the poem!

  4. If I had a partner he could have a Panama hat too. But i’ll just clap hands and reiterate Chris’ comment – Good choice Mrs W,

  5. Very dashing hat! Great poem! πŸ™‚

  6. Looking good, Chris!

Leave a Reply

