The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 141

The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 141

Welcome to the 1951 Rolling Review Show which features pieces of music I have enjoyed at some time in my life. I hope you enjoy them as well. Let me know if you do.

Gerald Raphael Finzi (1901-1956) British composer

Eclogue for Piano and Strings Op. 10 – Gerald Finzi

23 responses to “The 1951 Rolling Review Show … # 141

  1. This is rather marvellous, I’ve had it pootling away in the background while I go about my business. Thank you, Chris!

  2. Love Finzi – but this was new to me – thank you, so moving.

  3. Hi Chris – Thank you so much. I had not heard of Finzi… but loved this piece. In the context of my Post today, it would get an immediate 4-star rating with a strong possibility of 5-star after a few listenings. As an aside, I cannot imagine how he must have felt in his teens (1914-18 war), and then 20 years later (1939-1945 war). Perhaps that is why his music is so sensitive?

    • Hi Colin. Finzi did have quite a bleak outlook on life.
      He found solace in the works of Thomas Hardy and in poetry.
      His own father died when he was just eight. All three of his brothers also died. Pretty tough. Hopefully he found peace in his music.

  4. That’s a beautiful piece of music and the pictures add some magic. Or the music adds magic to the pics… don’t know…

  5. New to me and playing nicely in background. Lovely moving piece

  6. Pingback: Attacks of Brilliance are Exhilarating | bridgesburning

  7. Finzi is new to me. What a lovely piece. I think I shall take it with me when I visit the dentist. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

